AR Public Universities

Arkansas  Public Universities


When the Arkansas onAir Council is established, Council members and Arkansas onAir’s Executive Director will work with political science professors and other faculty at the University of Arkansas to start Arkansas’s first onAir chapter. This chapter will be partially modeled on the Democracy Squad chapter at George Mason University.

Through its chapters, Arkansas onAir will support the nationwide effort by colleges and universities across the country to  make democracy and civic responsibility a central aspect of higher learning.


The University of Arkansas’s onAir chapter will initially focus on training interested undergrad and graduate students on how to curate Arkansas onAir content especially submitting Top News articles, events, videos, and information and moderating forums in each post they curate.

Student curators will also work with state senate and house committee chairs to produce aircasts on issues being discussed and bills being proposed in their committees.

During election season, students with other other organizations like the League of Women Voters, will coordinate and produce aircasted debates with candidates.

The University of Arkansas onAir chapter will also help to establish other onAir chapters at public and private universities and colleges throughout the state.

University of Arkansas

Source: About the U of A

That ‘students-first’ philosophy is a big reason why the U of A is consistently ranked among the nation’s top public research universities and best values. We work hard to ensure a low student-to-faculty ratio that promotes plenty of personal attention and mentoring opportunities. The Carnegie Foundation classifies the university as having “the highest possible level of research,” placing us among the top 3 percent of colleges and universities nationwide.

Founded in 1871 as a land-grant institution, the University of Arkansas is the flagship of the University of Arkansas System. Our 27,000 students represent all 50 states and more than 120 countries. The U of A has 10 colleges and schools offering more than 210 academic programs. The University of Arkansas is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

Our picturesque campus is located in Fayetteville in the hilly northwest corner of Arkansas and includes two arboreta overlooking the Ozark Mountains. Some of the nation’s best outdoor amenities and most spectacular hiking trails are within a short drive of campus. Fayetteville is routinely considered among the country’s finest college towns, and the surrounding Northwest Arkansas region is regularly ranked one of the best places to live in the U.S.

Civic Engagement Programs

Source: Center for Community Engagement

The Center

The Center for Community Engagement (CCE) was established as a University of Arkansas Department in 2011. We serve as a catalyst between the campus and the community through our core values of being Relationship Focused, Student Driven, Service Minded. We support a network of student leaders, local agencies and University of Arkansas departments to create sustainable solutions through leadership experience, collaboration, and service.

The CCE is home to the Volunteer Action Center (VAC), a registered student organization dedicated to providing service to campus and community through signature programs, student leadership and our online volunteer platform GivePulse.

Our Mission

Empowering students to become engaged citizens through service, experiential learning, and practicing social value. Our vision is to foster collaborative experiences with students and the community through service to create sustainable solutions and develop tomorrow’s leaders.

Our Core Values:

  • Relationship Focused
  • Student Driven
  • Service Minded

Student Government


Who is ASG?

The University of Arkansas’ Associated Student Government was founded in 1921. Since then, the Associated Student Government has worked hard to be an organized voice for the undergraduate students at the University of Arkansas.

What does ASG do?

ASG supports a number of campus programs and initiatives while allocating approximately $250,000 to Registered Student Organizations each year. The Associated Student Government is split into three branches: Executive, Legislative, and Judicial. The three branches work together to strive for the betterment of the organization and the University of Arkansas as a whole.

Past ASG initiatives include the first-ever on campus polling location, the University Perspectives class, and Razorback Transit.

Our Vision and Purpose

The vision of the University of Arkansas’ Associated Student Government is to represent the common interests and voice of all undergraduate students through an educational experience of shared governance in the University’s decision and policy mkaing process.

The purpose of the Associated Student Government is to act as an organized voice for all undergraduate students of the University of Arkansas, to effectively represent undergraduate students in the University’s decision and policy making process, and to provide a broad educational experience for undergraduate students while promoting citizenship on campus and in the greater community. In doing so, ASG knowingly and responsibly recognizes the student role in the shared governance of the University of Arkansas.


Source: Political Science Department

Refer to Internship FAQ for specifics on how to receive PLSC credit for an internship.

Political Science Programs

Source: Political Science Department

Undergraduate Studies

There are several options available for students interested in pursuing a degree in Political Science. The following pages provide the information a student will need to achieve academic success in a degree in Political Science.

Graduate Studies

The Political Science Department at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville welcomes you and hopes that you find the following information helpful in making your decision to join the many others who have graduated from the Department. Our programs are student-centered and rigorous. Your commitment to graduate level work is essential for you to succeed.

We offer or participate in several graduate degrees: Master of Arts in Political ScienceMaster in Public Administration and Nonprofit StudiesDual JD/MA, and Dual JD/MPA. Many classes are offered in the evenings, to accommodate the schedules of working professionals.

Research Initiatives

Source: Political Science Department


Dear Students, Parents, Alumni, and Friends,


Welcome to the Department of Political Science. We are very glad you found us. Our department consists of a diverse group of outstanding faculty members who have been recognized for their outstanding teaching, mentoring, and research. If you are an undergraduate student searching for an academic home or interested in graduate programs, our department is a great place for you. We are deeply committed to the academic success of each of our students while they are here. We are also dedicated to the success in their careers after they graduate.


Thank you for your interest in our department. If you have any question about our programs, feel free to call our office at 479-575-3356 or stop by on the fourth floor of Old Main. We look forward to talking with you.

Bill Schreckhise
Chair, Department of Political Science
428 Old Main


OnAir membership is required. The lead Moderator for the discussions is James Lillard.
We encourage civil, honest, and safe discourse. See Terms of Service for curation guidelines.

This is an open discussion on the contents of this post.

Home Forums Open Discussion

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
Skip to toolbar